Helene Babbitt Awarded the Eleanor Roosevelt Award!

We’re proud to announce the Eleanor Roosevelt Award for 2020 goes to Helene Babbitt. The Eleanor Roosevelt Award is presented annually to members of our community whose work and service to the people of Coconino County embody the ideals of Eleanor Roosevelt. 

In her day, Mrs. Roosevelt was told to “attend to her own knitting,” but she refused. For decades, she wrote a daily newspaper column, traveled to spread FDR’s message, and pushed FDR’s administration toward more progressive policies. Truman appointed Eleanor Roosevelt to represent the United States at the first United Nations meeting.  Though she never held elected office, Mrs. Roosevelt was viewed as a tireless defender of the average American.

Roosevelt said, “I see it as our duty to comfort the afflicted, and to afflict the comfortable.”

Helene Babbitt is a worthy recipient of this award. After the 2016 Election, Helene pulled together a diverse group from the Flagstaff Community to form a local chapter of Indivisible, Flagstaff Indivisible, which she continues to host in her home.  In the 2018 Election Cycle, Helene led the Flagstaff-area effort on behalf of the Outlaw Dirty Money Campaign. In 2020, she led the Flagstaff Women’s March. We can count on Helene to step up and serve whenever needed. Helene is an elected Precinct Committee Person and contributor to Democratic Party causes.

The Eleanor Roosevelt Award for 2020 was presented to Helene Babbitt during our virtual Coconino Action Meeting today. At the same time, County Party Chair presented the Chair’s Award to Marisa Riggs-Ort, our outstanding office assistant. Both awards traditionally would have been given at our Annual Roosevelt-Kennedy Dinner in March; however, due to the pandemic, the dinner could not occur. Over sixty Democrats witnessed the awards on Zoom.

Congratulations to both Helene Babbitt and Marisa Riggs-Ort.

Posted in Latest News and tagged , , .