Looking at Arizona’s Democratic leadership

A lot has been published about the new leadership in the Arizona Republican Party, emphasizing the controversy over the election of ultra-right Kelli Ward as State Chair.

Meanwhile, there was nothing reported about the Arizona Democratic Party elections the same weekend, including the election of three Coconino County leaders. Pat Carr was elected Chair of the Veterans Caucus! Don Howard was elected as Vice Chair of the Rural Caucus! Christa Sadler was elected 2d Vice Chair of the Environmental Caucus! A total of 35 State Committee Members from Coconino County attended the meeting in Phoenix and participated in elections and planning for the 2019-2020 Election cycle.

At the top leadership level, State Committee Members re-elected our very effective and respected Chair Felecia Rotellini. We elected Pat Burns, who has been active with the party since he was in college, as Senior Vice Chair. Other officers are blend of a lot of new people such as Mohave County’s Mary McCord Robinson as First Vice Chair and Sierra Yamanaka of Pinal County as our new DNC member. We were proud to support and elect Missa Foy-Jentoft of Navajo County as one of the six Vice Chairs. Missa was active in organizing for Save Our Schools’ “No on Prop 305” campaign and we look forward to her joining the leadership of the Arizona Democratic Party. Taken together, the new leadership at ADP reflects the diversity and youth of the State.

While Democrats are exploring new avenues to improve the life of Arizonians, Republicans appear to be doubling down on being as insular, radical and anti-government as possible. Republicans have had a long run of control in Arizona, but we see that changing in 2020.


Democratic Party State Committeeman for Coconino County

Arizona Daily Sun – February 10, 2019

Posted in Letters to the Editor and tagged , .