AZ Legislative Alert – May 29, 2023


MAY 29, 2023


The Arizona Legislature met Monday, 5/15, to rush through a whole host of anti-culture and pro-gun bills. Many of these are now on the Governor’s desk. Then the Legislature adjourned for a month, reconvening on June 12. The “official” line is they are working on further budget compromises, but the truth is likely they just are going on vacation. In any case, the disaster of our Legislative session is not over. There will be more to come.
In the mean-time, we should urge Governor Hobbs to veto most of these terrible bills that have been submitted to her from the Legislature. For a comprehensive list of most of those bills see the CEBV newsletter from last week. Try this link: CEBV newsletter.

It is encouraged that you contact Governor Hobbs or her staff to oppose the following ESG bills:
SB 1500 – would prevent state and local governments from using ESG (Environment, Social, Governance) factors in considerations for investments.
SB 1694 – would prohibit local governments from having a diversity, equity and inclusion program (DEI) or entering into or renewing a contract with a company that participates in a DEI program.
SB 1611 – would prohibit a government entity from entering into ore renewing a contract with a company unless the contract includes the written certification that the company does NOT currently and will NOT implement an environment, social or governance standards policy.

Here is the contact information for our Legislators:

Here is the contact information for our Legislators:


LD 1 – Ken Bennett 602-926-5874
LD 7 – Wendy Rogers 602-926-3042
LD 6 – Theresa Hatathlie 602-926-5160

President Warren Petersen 602-926-4136
Majority Ldr Sonny Borrelli 602-926-5031
Minority Ldr Denise Epstein 602-926-4870


LD 1 – Selina Bliss 602-926-4018
LD 1 – Quang Nguyen 602-926-3258
LD 7 – David Cook 602-926-5162
LD 7 – David Marshall 602-926-3579
LD 6 – Mae Peshlakai 602-926-3708

LD 6 – Myron Tsosie 602-926-3157
Speaker Ben Toma 602-926-3298
Majority Ldr Leo Biasiucci 602-926-3018
Minority Ldr Andres Cano 602-926-3027
E-Mail Contact for Governor Katie Hobbs:
E-Mail Contacts for Governor Hobbs Staff:
John Owens
Janelle Pedregon

Share this:
Posted in Action Alerts, Latest News and tagged , .