AZ Legislative Alert – June 5, 2023


June 5, 2023


The Arizona Legislature remains on pause – due to reconvene on June 12 (not sure for how long). Some people think the Republican strategy is to stay in session far longer than normal – perhaps even until October. One reason for this may be that laws passed by this legislature cannot go into effect until 90 days after the legislature adjourns “sine die”. This affects some 142 bills actually signed by the Governor in this session. Examples include a bill to extend trauma counseling for 911 dispatchers, a bill to expand gray water use, ten bills to continue state agencies and various bills intended to clarify how budget monies are to be spent. If the legislature waits to adjourn in October, these bills can not go into effect
until January!
The ESA vouchers expanded to universal access is expected to reach $900 Million in 2024 – that’s money deducted from Public Schools. According to the Secretary of Education, initially 8 in 10 voucher request were from parents of students who have never gone to public schools (fully enrolled in Private Schools) – it seems the rate of application for vouchers now has dropped to only half of those requesting vouchers have only gone to private schools.
According to Representative Jacqueline Parker (R-15) “This is GREAT!!….there is still another 7 + BILLION spent on the useless indoctrination camps that are “government schools”…until ESA’s are pulling at LEAST $5 Billion from government schools, our job is not yet finished”!!!!

Governor Hobbs has urged President Biden to designate tribally proposed monument at the Grand Canyon. This monument is the Baaj Nwaavjo I’Tah Kukveni Grand Canyon National Monument. A coalition of tribes in April asked the Biden Administration to protect 1.1 million acres around the Grand Canyon. This designation would prevent new mining while maintaining existing uses such as hiking, hunting, fishing, grazing and camping.

Here is the contact information for our Legislators:

Here is the contact information for our Legislators:


LD 1 – Ken Bennett 602-926-5874
LD 7 – Wendy Rogers 602-926-3042
LD 6 – Theresa Hatathlie 602-926-5160

President Warren Petersen 602-926-4136
Majority Ldr Sonny Borrelli 602-926-5031
Minority Ldr Denise Epstein 602-926-4870


LD 1 – Selina Bliss 602-926-4018
LD 1 – Quang Nguyen 602-926-3258
LD 7 – David Cook 602-926-5162
LD 7 – David Marshall 602-926-3579
LD 6 – Mae Peshlakai 602-926-3708

LD 6 – Myron Tsosie 602-926-3157
Speaker Ben Toma 602-926-3298
Majority Ldr Leo Biasiucci 602-926-3018
Minority Ldr Andres Cano 602-926-3027
E-Mail Contact for Governor Katie Hobbs:
E-Mail Contacts for Governor Hobbs Staff:
John Owens
Janelle Pedregon

Share this:
Posted in Action Alerts, Latest News and tagged , , , , , .