Who’s on Your Primary Ballot?

Democratic Candidates Mark Kelly for U.S. Senate, Felicia French for AZ Senate in LD-6, and Coral Evans for AZ House in LD-6 are unopposed in the August primary. Like Joe Biden, these are our “presumptive nominees” and you’ll be seeing more and more about them from us. Each of them faces a tough contest in November against Republican opponents, so please join us in supporting these candidates by phone banking and sharing on social media. 

Tom O’Halleran and Eva Putzova both qualified for the August 4 Democratic Primary for the U.S. House seat in CD-1.  Congratulations to both candidates! We look forward to following your race and helping our voters learn about your campaigns. 

County Candidates Sarah Benatar (County Treasurer), Jim Driscoll (Sheriff), Patty Hansen (Recorder), Tommy Lewis (Superintendent of Schools) and Armando Ruiz (County Assessor) all qualified for the ballot and are unopposed in both the primary and general elections. Some Supervisor Districts have primary opponents; these Democrats qualified for the primary ballot:

  • District 1:   Newcomer Patrice Horstman has no primary opponent but will face an Independent in the General Election.
  • District 2: Incumbent Liz Archuleta is unopposed.
  • District 3:  Incumbent Matt Ryan is unopposed in the primary but will face a Republican opponent in the General.
  • District 4:  Two candidates qualified for the Democratic Primary — Bryan Bates and Judy Begay. The winner on August 4 will face either Bob Thorpe (yes, that Bob Thorpe) or newcomer Republican Stan Pierce, depending on which one wins the Republican primary.
  • District 5:  Incumbent Lena Fowler will face Marie B. Acothley in the primary.

In the statewide race for Corporation Commission — the only statewide race on the ballot this year — three Democrats will be listed on the primary ballot: Bill Mundell, Shea Stanfield, and Anna Tovar. There are two seats open, so you’ll vote for two of these on August 4. The winners will face off against two Republicans (there are six of those on the primary ballot).

In the non-partisan Flagstaff City Council race, six Democrats and no Republicans obtained enough signatures to be on the ballot. Since there are three council seats to be filled at the General Election, there will be no voting for City Council until November 3. However, in the Mayoral race, there are four candidates for the one slot. Therefore, the primary ballot will list all four of those candidates. The Democrats on the ballot are Paul Deasy and Jamie Whelan.

The primary election is August 4. Here’s what you need to know about voting in the election.

Source: Coconino County Website

More information about 2020 Democratic Candidates.

Share this:
Posted in Latest News and tagged , .